7 Animations in 6 Days

Well I had quite an experience the other week. I applied to a studio in California. They seem like a really promising company and I’m really excited to see what they produce. They had me do an animation test for them. To sum it up they wanted 7 rather short (the longest one was 5 seconds) animations done in a week. Unfortunately I immediately lost a day because I had to stay at work late.

As much as this was a fairly straight forward test, I was nervous about the obvious time constraint looming over me. This was going to be a first for me in so many ways. I had never before put out such volume in such a short amount of time. I was going to be cranking out just over an animation a day. The other first for me was that, in respect to how long the animation could be, I hadn’t ever really had such a constrained frame limit given to me. They needed key actions to happen on certain frames, the animation to be a certain length, and to accurately portray a sense of character personality.

With all of that in mind, I set out to do something I had never done before. I was sure I would learn a lot. I did.

I had originally intended this post to be way bigger and include self-critiques of each of the animations but I’ve decided against it for a number of reasons. I would have loved it if it could have been used as a learning tool for not only me, but for other people as well.

I’ve been pretty inspired as of late and I’m going to be starting a new animation this week. I’m expecting big things from myself. I also have the intention of revisiting past work and making some changes to them to refine my demo reel.

~ by randaly on February 6, 2012.

Leave a comment